Under South Carolina law you are required to pay a Personal Property tax on your vehicle before you can obtain a South Carolina license plate. Yearly property taxes must be paid in order to obtain a valid renewal decal.
Property tax is based on the retail value and the taxing district in which you reside. The property is assessed at a current of 6% of its market value. This rate will continue to decrease .95% each year until the vehicle is 15 years old.
- When moving from another state into South Carolina each vehicle owned by a non-resident is required to be registered within a period of 30 days. In South Carolina, taxes on your vehicle are paid a year in advance. If you would like to transfer a license plate, the car must be in the same name or you must obtain a new license plate.
- If your vehicle has High Mileage you must qualify according to the High Mileage Chart as published by the South Carolina Department Of Revenue. According to State law you can only apply for High Mileage no later than the last day your tax bill is due.
- Your assessment is based on guides provided by the South Carolina Department of Revenue.
- If the vehicle is sold prior to the renewal of the registration, South Carolina Law provides for a Pro-rated refund on the taxes paid. (Tag and registration must be surrendered to the Dept. of Motor Vehicles or online at SCDMVonline.com. In addition, new owner information is required before the refund process can begin.)