• _assets_/images/pic.jpg


Library Board of Trustees

Boards & Commissions

Home » Government » Boards & Commissions » Library Board of Trustees

Library Board of Trustees

Request email notification when page changes Get Updates

Darlington County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 34, Article II.

Membership: Consists of eight members appointed by each county council member to represent each of the eight county council districts.

Term of Office: 4 Year Terms

Responsibilities: Employ a chief librarian; purchase, lease, hold and dispose of real and personal property in the name of the county for the exclusive use of the county public library system with such approval by County Council; acquire books and other library materials and provide for use thereof throughout the county; accept donations of real property, service, books and other items suitable for the library system; designate or mark equipment, rooms and buildings and other library facilities to commemorate and identify gifts and donations made to the library system; cooperate or enter into contracts or agreements with any public or private agency for improved services or financial aid subject to County Council's approval; enter into contracts or agreements with other counties to operate regional or joint libraries and related facilities subject to County Council's approval; receive and expend grants, appropriations, gifts and donations for the operation, expansion, or improvement of the library system; etc.

Meeting Schedule: 3rd Wednesday, 5 p.m., Meeting location rotates to each library

Staff Liaison: Mr. Jimmied Replying, Library Director 843-398-4940 Send Email

Library Board of Trustees Board Members:

Members Position Term
Ms. Carol Hill                Council District 1 03/06/2023 - 06/30/2024         
Ms. J. Gail Gandy Council District 2 07/01/2022 - 06/30/2026
Ms. Vanessa Patterson Council District 3 07/01/2023 - 06/30/2027
Ms. Bobbie Gardner Council District 4 10/07/2023 - 06/30/2027
Ms. Joann Kelley Lee Council District 5 0 5/15/2017 - 06/30/2024
Ms. Barbara Carraway Council District 6 07/01/2023 - 06/30/2027
Mr. Warren Arthur Council District 7 07/01/2014 - 06/30/2024
Mr. Gene Lawrence Norwood  Council District 8            07/01/2021 - 06/30/2025