• bannerimage/Prescription-drug-bottles.jpg


Prescription Drug Take Back Program


Home » Departments » Sheriff » Prescription Drug Take Back Program

Request email notification when page changes Get Updates

PharmaceuticalsSouth Carolina is experiencing an evolving opioid crisis which is affecting everyone, including seniors. Seniors are unique in that while they are often over-prescribed, and in some cases abusing opioids, they are also frequently in possession of unused prescription medication. This grant program is part of our effort to promote drug take back as a safe way to dispose of unused prescription medication. 

The Sheriff’s Office is a recipient of a Prescription Drug Take Back Box courtesy of the State of South Carolina's Lieutenant Governor’s Office. 

Drop Off hours for any unused or expired prescription medication is as follows:

Mondays to Fridays
9 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Every Third Saturday of the month
8 a.m to 10 a.m

As the abuse of opioids and other prescription medications continue to rise, this service is geared towards providing the residents of Darlington County with the ability to safely dispose of unused medication.

For more information on this troubling epidemic please visit SCDHEC

Feel free to contact the Sheriff's Office with any questions by calling 843-398-4501, or emailing PRESCRIPTION DRUG TAKE BACK PROGRAM

The Darlington Area can contact the Pee Dee Area Agency on Aging - Vantage Point, which covers Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion, and Marlboro Counties at 843-383-8632.

To learn more about the ongoing Opioid Crisis in South Carolina READ MORE HERE

National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day is Saturday, April 28, 2018.


Darlington County
Sheriff's Office

1621 Harry Byrd Highway
Darlington, SC 29532

Phone: 843-398-4501
After hours/Non-Emergency: 843-398-4920

Fax: 843-398-4502

Visit the new website:

Sheriff Chavis
Sheriff Tony Chavis

Send Email

Chief Edwards
Chief Joshua Edwards
Chief Deputy
Send Email

Lt. Capers
Captain Kaynnera T. Capers
Send Email

Lt. Kilgo
Lieutenant Robby Kilgo
Executive Officer
Send Email

Valerie Freeman
Lieutenant Valerie Freeman
Administration Lieutenant
Send Email

Lieutenant Cusack
Lieutenant Charles "Neal" Cusack
CID Lieutenant
Send Email

Lt. Hall
Lieutenant Michael Hall
Patrol Lieutenant
Send Email

Lieutenant Larry Stivender 1
Lieutenant Larry Stivender
SVU Lieutenant
Send Email

Edith Robinson
Executive Administrator
Send Email